The “very red, round and proud” lighthouse was made famous in the 1942 tale of friendship, “The Little Red Lighthouse and the Great Gray Bridge,” a book that relays the friendship between the tiny beacon and the George Washington Bridge.
Built in 1880, the Little Red Lighthouse was moved to Jeffrey’s Hook, a rocky point on the Hudson River near Manhattan’s northern edge, in 1921. When construction of the George Washington Bridge was completed in 1931, the bridge’s 600-foot towers overwhelmed the lighthouse.
By 1951, the Little Red Lighthouse was slated for demolition. Thousands of children, however, had other plans, as they started a successful nationwide campaign to save the lighthouse. Today, visitors can climb to the top of the tower, where the lantern room is again fitted with a working lens that blinks at cargo barges and passenger ships sailing under the George Washington Bridge.
Learn more at www.historichousetrust.org