Columbia University


Columbia University is a private Ivy League research university located in Morningside Heights, a neighborhood on the upper west side of Manhattan. Founded by royal charter in 1754 as King's College, Columbia is the oldest institution of higher learning in New York and the fifth oldest in the U.S. Samuel Johnson held the first classes with eight students in a new schoolhouse on lower Broadway in Manhattan.


After the Revolutionary War forced an eight-year suspension of classes, the college reopened in 1884 with a new name, Columbia. In 1897, the university moved to Morningside Heights as Columbia's president sought to create an urban academic village.


Today, in addition to its New York City campuses, the university operates seven Columbia Global Centers overseas. Notable alumni include nine Justices of the United States Supreme Court, 25 Academy Award winners, and 29 heads of state, including three U.S. Presidents.


Learn more at

<< Grant’s Tomb
Riverside Park >>